THE COLD EYE Endeavour(s) to Please!

2018 Endeavour Award Finalists and Judges
July 12, 2018


Portland – Five novels written by writers from the Pacific Northwest are finalists for the 20th annual Endeavour Award.  The Award comes with an honorarium of $1,000.00 and will be announced November 9, 2018, at OryCon, Oregon’s primary science fiction convention.

The finalists are:
Cross Town by Cedar Rapid, IA, writer Loren W. Cooper, Xeno Books;
The Cold Eye by  Laura Anne Gilman, Saga Press;
Ironfoot by Dave Duncan, Night Shade Books;
Portal of 1000 Worlds by Dave Duncan, Open Road Integrated Media;
A Secret History of Witches by Louisa Morgan, Orbit US.

The Endeavour Award honors a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest.  All entries are read and scored by seven readers randomly selected from a panel of preliminary readers.  The five highest scoring books then go to three final judges, who are all professional writers or editors from outside of the Pacific Northwest.

The judges for the 2018 Award are Elizabeth Bear, James Patrick Kelly, and Christopher Rowe.


For additional information contact:
James W. Fiscus, Chairman
Phone: 503-239-7641
E-Mail:    Web:


Scroll to Top